Sense of Self

reachingrecovery

I am learning a new sense of self. I find myself focusing on just me. Whereas before, I would have been looking, seeing who’s there, who’s there to see me. It’s as if before, I needed other people to see me to know I existed, to give me validation in the world. However, after a while, just seeing me wasn’t enough validation. I then needed someone to smile at me, to talk to me, to buy me a drink, to sleep with me to provide validation. Along the way, I lost myself. It may take some hard work, but I want to truly find myself and that be validation enough. To know that I exist, me, as I am. No need for validation outside of me.

View original post

Leave a Reply

