The Piety of Toxic Love

Let Me Reach with Kim Saeed

I was with my Ex for over eight years.

I am unable to recall a single Valentine’s Day spent with him.

I literally cannot summon up one miniscule facet of those eight holidays.

It seems they’ve been gridlocked from my memory.

And frankly, I don’t want or need to remember.

Some things are better left forgotten…

better left slouching in the cold, frozen night from whence those black moments were born.

Instead, I abscond gingerly to unsullied vistas where the earth is not deprived of its color.

Where my individuality is celebrated, no longer a conviction.

A place where I can breathe in green air

and the mornings offer their gracious possibilities.

In his unraveling of me, I discovered a gem of recognition.

Acknowledgement of the heavy truth

that I needed his blackness to discover my light.

© Kim Saeed and Let Me Reach, 2016

View original post

Leave a Reply

